please, mr postman – the carpenters

Posted: February 25, 2013 in paper
Tags: , , , , , ,

I’m spending a lot of time on that clothfolks’ site, I realise. I’m building my base there, establishing relationships and checking out the lie of the land.
One person I’ve been talking to is a papergirl from Coatbridge, which I believe is a satellite town outside Glasgow.
She seems friendly, even perky, but won’t display any pictures. There are none on her bio-page and, even after I made her laugh, she didn’t offer to share her likeness.
It’s like Stella all over again – the aggressive flirting but backed up by no interest in notching things up a level.
Maybe this is what happens as you get older.
There’s a few other people I talk to, but she and I seem to run into each other a lot – and the chats we’re having are getting progressively deeper.
I got an e-mail from work, asking if I had a date I’d be returning to work yet. I thought about it for a few minutes and sent a non-commital reply, mentioning I was still in hospital.
Half an hour later, they replied. The tone of this one was lighter, more friendly.
I scanned it, then marked it to reply tomorrow.
Another e-mail arrived as I was eating. I checked it and it was the Coatbridge papergirl. I read through it and it made little sense.
I decided to file that alongside the work e-mail and deal with it all tomorrow.

Leave a comment